Strangers

I said something the other day that echoed back in my head in my father’s voice. I used the phrase, “friends, family and strangers off the street.”

My dad used to say it about every event our church had, he’d tell everyone to invite “friends, family and strangers off the street.” I have no idea where the saying came from, or if he made it up. No matter where is actually came from, the message was clear: Everyone is welcome. Everyone is invited. No matter who they are.

That’s an excellent example coming from a pastor/Christian/father/human being. It was more than just words, it was picking people up for church, opening our home or sharing a break at work.

I can’t count the number of people that throughout my childhood found a safe place in our home and family when they needed it. Whether they were there for only a meal or for years.

When I found myself using my father’s words it was a little reminder that everyone deserves to be loved and included.

I have all sorts of drafts in my queue that I considered posting, then something made me want to write about my dad today. I’m afraid that someday I might run out of stories, memories and lessons from him to write about, but I suspect it’ll take awhile before that happens.

Related Posts:

A lesson from my father

What I should have said at dad’s funeral

Treasure your father

About Probably Rachel

PR professional and social media enthusiast, blogging about life, marriage, coffee and type 1 diabetes. You can follow me on Twitter also @ProbablyRachel

Posted on July 24, 2012, in Community, Family, My Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

Leave a Reply

